Skip to main content

Hoe was de opening?

(zie ook film en foto’s)

Speciale eenmalige muzikale performance tijdens opening
The Worship –  A live performance for A Stage of Luminosity
music by HABITANTS & Rutger Muller


Atmospherische rock band HABITANTS en hedendaagse componist Rutger Muller zijn op uitnodiging van Viewmaster Projects, Musica Sacra Festival, Intro in situ en de Muziekgieterij een samenwerking gestart. De componist en band hebben speciaal voor de opening van A Stage of Luminosity een nieuw muziekstuk geschreven dat eenmalig opgevoerd zal worden tijdens de opening op 19 september. Het optreden van 18 min. (even lang als de videowerken van Arno Coenen) is een performance en geen regulier bandoptreden. Muller en HABITANTS nemen de bezoekers op de openingsavond mee in soort meeslepend aanbiddingsritueel Een uniek live-optreden dat zich op vloeiende, dynamische manier beweegt tussen de kleurrijke en mystieke elementen die Arno Coenen in A Stage of Luminosity heeft gelegd. Na 19 sept. zal de aanbidding in stilte zijn.

Rutger Muller
Rutger Muller is electroacoustic composer (MA Music Technology) focused on the intricacies of timbre, acoustics and spatiality. He extract compositions or “soundspaces” from elements of ancient/classical music, (dark) ambient, (dub) techno, free improvisation and architectural ideas. By shaping a semi-abstract sound, he wants to transcend the drama of emotion, to reach beyond it, towards the patterns and noises of consciousness (the micro cosmos), outer space (the macro cosmos) and nature. Through electro-acoustic sound design and collaborations with contemporary (classical) instrumentalists, he want to shed new light on the spiritual (minimalist) essence of musical cultures — and to investigate how to make sense of this in our hectic (digital) culture. The results are often more mystic than abstract; on the edge between tranquil and uncanny.

HABITANTS are the living proof that atmosphere, talent and honest music can still prevail in an ailing music industry. With a solid rock history, René Rutten of the Dutch band ‘the Gathering’ decided to start a new band in 2015 with guitar player Gema Perèz and vocalist Anne van den Hoogen. With a mix of atmospheric, dynamic electric guitar melodies, silvery vocals and soft electronic and organic beats, the music can be best described as film music noir, creating a slow rollercoaster ride from bright colorful lights to uncomfortable pit dark caves. Habitants has Mirte Heutmekers on bas and Jerome Miedendorp de Bie on drums.